The Daily Mirror and The Mail on Sunday took the flagship Newspaper of the Year honours at today’s London Press Club Awards, while Londoner of the Year Award was presented  by the Club to Lord Lloyd-Webber for his outstanding contribution to the success story of the West End theatre, which is breaking all records.

Today’s awards ceremony took place in front of a full house of leading media figures at Stationers’ and Newspapermakers’ Hall near St Paul’s.

Mirror editor-in-chief Lloyd Embley

The Daily Mirror was awarded Daily Newspaper of the Year for “regaining its passion and authority” said chairman of the judges Bill Hagerty publishing a series of important scoops and vigorous campaigns”. The other nominees were the Daily Mail and The Times.

The Mail on Sunday retained the Sunday Newspaper of the Year honour ahead of The Independent on Sunday and The Sunday Times. Presenting the award to Mail on Sunday editor Geordie Greig for the third year running, Bill Hagerty said this was “fully deserved by a paper where journalistic excellence across the board has led to commercial as well as journalistic success”.

The first award of the day saw Lord Lloyd-Webber, best-known for a string of international musical theatre hits including Cats, Evita and The Phantom of the Opera, became the third winner of the Londoner of the Year honour. Made a life peer in 1997, he also – through this Really Useful Group – owns six West End theatres, including the Palladium.

Ally Ross of The Sun was named Reviewer of the Year, sponsored by Skoda, seeing off competition from Craig Brown and Giles Coren for what was the first of four News UK wins.

David Smith of The Sunday Times saw off strong competition from FT trio Ed Crooks, Michael Kavanagh and Gillian Tett to win Business Journalist of the Year, sponsored by UK Power Networks.

Today presenter Mishal Husain was selected as Broadcaster of the Year, ahead of Channel 4 News’ Matt Frei, BBC social affairs correspondent Alison Holt and BBC global health reporter Tulip Mazumdar.

Doug Wills, Mishal Husain and Bill Hagerty

The Sunday Times Insight Team won Scoop of the Year for its Fifa expose, ahead of the same paper’s Trojan Horse reporting and The Mail on Sunday’s ‘62p an hour’ story.

Iain Dale won Blog of the Year, sponsored by Gorkana, seeing off strong competition from Sarah Ditum and David Hepworth.

The second special award of the day went to Times columnist Melanie Reid, who received the Edgar Wallace Trophy for writing or reporting of the highest quality.