The Sunday Times leads the way with four nominations for this year’s London Press Club Awards, the annual celebration of the best of print, online and broadcast journalism.

After last year’s sell-out at the same venue, the awards lunch takes place at Stationers’ Hall on April 14. Vying for the flagship Newspaper of the Year awards are, in the daily category, the Daily MailDaily Mirror and The Times and, in the Sunday category, The Independent on SundayThe Mail on Sunday and The Sunday Times. Last year’s titles were taken by the London Evening Standard and The Mail on Sunday respectively.

London Press Club chairman Doug Wills commented: “After another fantastic year for British journalism – and the busiest 12 months for the London Press Club in some time – I’m looking forward to celebrating our industry on April 14.”

The shortlist for Broadcaster of the Year is comprised of Channel 4 News’ Matt Frei, BBC social affairs correspondent Alison Holt, Today programme host Mishal Husain and BBC global health reporter Tulip Mazumdar.

Screen Shot 2015-03-24 at 13.43.27

Nominees for Blog of the Year, sponsored by Gorkana, are Iain Dale for, Sarah Ditum for Paperhouse and David Hepworth for whatsheonaboutnow. Competing for Arts Reviewer of the Year, sponsored by Skoda, are The Mail on Sunday’s Craig BrownGiles Coren of The Times and The Sun’s Ally Ross.

Screen Shot 2015-03-24 at 13.46.47

The Financial Times dominates the shortlist for Business Journalist of the Year, sponsored by UK Power Networks, with Ed Crooks,Michael Kavanagh and Gillian Tett nominated alongside David Smith of The Sunday Times.

In the running for Scoop of the Year, sponsored by Nook, are Ben Ellery for The Mail on Sunday’s 62p an hour story, the Sunday Times insight team for Fifa Files and Sian Griffiths and Richard Kerbaj for the Sunday Times’ Trojan Horse expose.

Two special awards will also be made; the Edgar Wallace Trophy for writing or reporting of the highest quality and Londoner of the Year, which was presented last year to Baroness Lawrence by Paul Dacre.

Chairman of the awards judges Bill Hagerty said: “Once again the judges wish to congratulate all those shortlisted – and many who just missed the cut – for the high standard of their work. Dedicated professionals continue to produce fine, innovative journalism that overall remains the best in the world.”

Places for the awards lunch can be booked by emailing at £155 for Press Club members, £165 for non-members and £1,600 for a table of 10. The awards come after a busy year for the London Press Club which saw media debates held at exclusive venues across the capital and the revival of a monthly drinks evening. For more information